La Liga Cancels Award For 2016/2017 Season

The Spanish Football League (LFP) has cancelled its annual Gala Awards Ceremony, which honours the top players and coaches in Spain.

LFP will instead create a new format that ensures better attendance.
“With the aim of defining a new format and adapting it to the La Liga new strategy, we have taken the decision not to celebrate the Gala Awards for the 2016-17 campaign.
“La Liga will focus all its efforts to end 2017 with a great football party that will coincide with Round 17 of La Liga Santander and Round 20 of the LaLiga 1|2|3.
“During this time in which football will have a starring role, we will celebrate great events and it will be essential the involvement of the clubs and members of La Liga,” a La Liga statement read.
The 2015/2016 awards winners Lionel Messi (best striker) and Luis Suarez (best world player) of Barcelona as well as Atletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann (best player of the year), did not attend the ceremony that was held in October 2016 in Valencia.
La Liga’s awards were established in the 2008/2009 campaign.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here